Monday’s Link Assemblage

Links, get it?

Avast, here are some things I found on the internet that you might not have seen yet. Enjoy, link to me, tweet about it–whatever floats your boat.

Jay Lake – The larval stages of the common American speculative fiction author

Writer larvae of the world, unite! As a somewhat proud member of, oh, stage three or so of Jay Lake’s humorous catalog, I can say that I don’t really look forward to my inevitable progression. Someday, hopefully, I’ll be  a butterfly. Or at least a moth.

The Wall Street Journal – The Death of the Slush Pile

The lessons here are: 1)query those agents and 2)there are no shortcuts. Slog it out.

Jo Walton – SF Reading Protocols

This is what happened when I tried to get my girlfriend to read Ursula Le Guin’s The Left Hand of Darkness, only in reverse. I thought her anthropological training and interest in race issues would make it a breeze for her, but she got completely derailed by the cold open (heh) and the early focus on politics.

Just a sidenote to any authors: the sentence, “Having a world unfold in one’s head is the fundamental SF experience.” makes a damn fine motto/mantra, just bear in mind that Ms. Walton’s definition of “SF” is “the broad genre of science fiction and fantasy.”

Leave a Reply

